Logo FOR 2895

FOR 2895

Unsteady flow and interaction phenomena at High Speed Stall conditions

A research initiative funded by DFG (FOR 2895), HGF and DLR
[Photo: IAG Uni Stuttgart]

This research initiative involves the detailed numerical and experimental investigation of unsteady phenomena and interactions that occur near the flight envelope boundaries of aircraft at high flight Mach numbers.

The studies include aerodynamic interactions with future Ultra High Bypass Ratio (UHBR) engine configurations and the impact of the wing wake on the horizontal tail plane (HTP). The phenomena will be investigated at Reynolds numbers relevant for aircraft in flight, with special emphasis on the boundaries of the flight envelope. For this purpose, unsteady experimental studies will be carried out in the European Transonic Wind Tunnel (ETW) in Cologne, applying the latest flow measurement techniques. This cryogenic wind tunnel enables recreating of flight-like Reynolds and Mach numbers on scale models of full aircraft configurations via extreme cooling of the flow medium.

Computational studies also form a large part of the investigations, with simulations conducted both at full aircraft level for global studies and at local detail level for precise predictions of physical effects. The methods comprise RANS-based CFD using modern advanced turbulence models, scale-resolving hybrid RANS/LES methods and LES methods. The obtained results are used for the investigation of open questions related to the mechanisms of the three-dimensional buffet phenomenon on swept wings, or to the interaction of a turbulent wake with the horizontal tailplane. In addition, obtained aerodynamic data are used to advance the development of computationally efficient, industrially applicable reduced order models.  The University of Stuttgart, the Technical Universities of Braunschweig and Munich, RWTH Aachen University and DLR are involved in this research initiative.

The scientific effort is funded by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) as research group FOR 2895, which is divided into seven subprojects (TP1-TP7). The wind tunnel experiments in the ETW are financed by the Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (HGF) with a contribution from (DLR). This "ETW measurement project" includes the design and manufacture of additional components for the wind tunnel model. The original model itself is provided by Airbus.

   
   
   

The partners of the research group FOR 2895

      

      

      

      

This image showsThorsten Lutz
Dr.-Ing.

Thorsten Lutz

Head of working group Aircraft Aerodynamics / Head of working group Wind Energy

To the top of the page

Logo FOR 2895

FOR 2895

Erforschung instationärer Phänomene und Wechselwirkungen beim High Speed Stall

Eine Forschungsinitiative, gefördert durch die DFG (FOR 2895), die HGF und das DLR.
[Foto: IAG Uni Stuttgart]

Ziel der Forschungsinitiative ist die detaillierte numerische und experimentelle Erforschung instationärer Phänomene und Wechselwirkungen, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Verhalten von Verkehrstflugzeugen nahe der Flugbereichsgrenzen bei hohen Flugmachzahlen auftreten.

Dabei werden auch Wechselwirkungen mit künftigen Ultra High Bypass Ratio (UHBR) Triebwerkskonfigurationen und die Auswirkungen des Flügelnachlaufs auf das Leitwerk betrachtet. Die Phänomene sollen bis hin zu flugrelevanten Reynoldszahlen untersucht werden, wobei besonderes Augenmerk auf die Grenzbereiche der Flugenveloppe gelegt wird. Hierzu werden unter Nutzung neuester Messtechniken aufwändige instationäre Messungen im Europäischen Transsonischen Windkanal (ETW) in Köln durchgeführt. In diesem Kryo-Windkanal lassen sich durch extremes Abkühlen des Strömungsmediums an maßstäblichen Modellen kompletter Flugzeugkonfigurationen Reynoldszahlen realisieren, wie sie beim Original im Flug auftreten.

Außerdem werden numerische Studien sowohl auf Detailebene , als auch auf globaler Ebene für das gesamte Flugzeug durchgeführt. Dabei kommen RANS-basierte CFD-Verfahren unter Nutzung moderner Turbulenzmodelle, skalenauflösende hybride RANS/LES-Methoden sowie LES Methoden zum Einsatz. Neben der Erforschung offener Fragen zu den Mechanismen des dreidimensionalen Buffetphänomens am gepfeilten Flügel oder der Wechselwirkung eines turbulenten Nachlaufs mit dem Flugzeugleitwerk werden die gewonnenen aerodynamischen Daten genutzt, um recheneffiziente, industriell einsetzbare Modelle reduzierter Ordnung zu erstellen. An dieser Forschungsinitiative sind neben der Universität Stuttgart die Technischen Universitäten Braunschweig und München, die RWTH Aachen University sowie das Deutsche Luft- und Raumfahrtzentrum (DLR) beteiligt.

Die Arbeiten werden von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) im Rahmen der Forschungsgruppe FOR 2895 gefördert, die in sieben, vornehmlich numerisch geprägte, Teilprojekte (TP1-TP7) gegliedert ist. Die Windkanalexperimente im ETW werden von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (HGF) mit einem Eigenbeitrag des DLR finanziert. In diesem „ETW Messprojekt“ erfolgen auch die notwendigen Erweiterungen des Windkanalmodells, das von Airbus zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

   
   
   

Die Partner der Forschungsgruppe FOR 2895

      

      

      

      

Dieses Bild zeigt  Thorsten Lutz
Dr.-Ing.

Thorsten Lutz

Leiter Luftfahrzeugaerodynamik / Leiter Windenergie

Zum Seitenanfang